« Back to Club Listings

Railway Union

Railway Union Cricket Club

About Railway Union

Railway Union is a community based multisports club that aims to make sport enjoyable for all, no matter what age, size or ability. It has over 1000 members who enjoy bowls, cricket, hockey, rugby, soccer and tennis. Railway teams and individuals, supported by excellent coaching, continue to have provincial, national and international representative success.(read more)

Located in Park Avenue, Sandymount, for over 100 years, Railway members enjoy a choice of sports throughout the year. Adult activities also include bridge, hill walking and social evenings. Kids & teen camps are provided during school holidays. Email manager@railwaysport.com for more information.

Facilities include astro hockey pitch, 5 superb all-weather floodlit tennis courts, 6 grass courts, a full size bowling green, 2 soccer pitches, a cricket ground and a full size rugby pitch. The club has a fully licensed bar and function room which hosts indoor bowls, quiz nights, bbqs, treasure hunts, poker nights, bridge, discos and dinners throughout the year!

  • Like us on FaceBook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Watch us on YouTube

Contact Information

Last edited on 23/03/2017

Address: Park Avenue, Sandymount, Dublin 4 Map this location on Google Maps
Phone: 01 2691783
Website: railwayunionsc.com/
Main Contact:
Derek Carroll, Railway Union
, 0860622999

The story of Railway Union cricket has been likened to a renaissance painting. A mixture of light and shade. The Italians have a great word for it – chiaroscuro. What a musical word! We have had our years of shade – recalling the years from 1930 to 1945 when we had our babylonian captivity, our papal exile to Avignon, when we fell out of senior cricket, only to be restored by the skills and dedication of men like Kyrie Tanham, Louis Sumerling and Billy Whelan.

There was relative shade in the 1990s as we struggled to rebuild after the retirement of some of our greats. The green shoots were appearing at the turn of the century and 2002 saw us winners of the Lewis Traub league and Section B of the WhitneyMooreKeller League and runners-up in the Royal Liver Irish Senior Cup in 2003, followed by winners of the Alan Murray Twenty20 Cup in 2004 and again runners up in the Irish Senior Cup in 2005.

But none of that prepared us for the annus mirabilis of 2006. Captained from the front by Kenny Carroll, we won the Irish Senior Cup, the Dublin Grass Machinery League, the Lewis Hohn Williams Alan Murray Twenty20 Cup and Section B of the WhitneyMoore League. That was the year when Kenny Carroll and Kevin O’Brien burst their way into the Irish senior team to join Kevin’s brother Niall who had been our first international player since Kevin and Niall’s father, Brendan (Ginger) had retired as captain of Ireland in 1981.

And what if Ginger could have his friends of yesteryear with him on the verandah at Park Avenue to watch today’s players? Ginger was our little master, our Sachin Tendulkar, as he stroked his way to 21,765 runs in 705 senior
appearances (a Leinster record). As he enjoys today the success of Niall and Kevin, how much more would he enjoy the music of our chiaroscuro if he could have with him the eternal Niall McConnell, our Muttiah Muralitharan, who wheeled his arm over for 1033 wickets in 459 games, and the impish smile of Joey O’Meara with his 411 appearances, our Ian Botham, as he hit ball after ball out of Park Avenue for mighty sixes and, almost likely, into the afternoon teacup of the reverend mother in the convents at either end of the ground. And behind it all, stood Dessie Byrne, stumper supreme whose 478 dismissals in 493 appearances had the amazing majority of 254 stumpings to go with 224 catches.

Please click on the link below and we will contact you straight back

Latest Results

There are no latest results for this club yet!

Upcoming Fixtures

There are no upcoming fixtures for this club yet!

Club Contacts

  • Name Title Email Phone
  • Gerard O'Brien Treasurer GerardObrien@ibrc.ie 086 3232566
  • Franz Savino Chairperson franzsavino@gmail.com 085 7200649
  • Derek Carroll Team Secretary railwaycc@gmail.com 086 0622999
  • Dave Sihra Secretary gurdavesihra@gmail.com 086 3289916
  • Kenny Carroll 1st Team Captain kencarroll20@gmail.com 087 2757486
© Copyright Cricket Leinster. All Rights Reserved. Web Design Dublin.

Subscribe to the Cricket Leinster Newsletter

Please complete the form below to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with all the latest news, events, results and offers from Cricket Leinster.