Laois Cricket Club is located in the historic and picturesque village of Stradbally. The Club was originally the Midland Cricket Club based in Tullamore where it spent its first fifteen years, it then moved to Portarlington for one season before moving to Portlaoise where it spent 33 years before the move to its present and hopefully final location in 2019. Along the way the Club changed its name to Laois CC.
The Club started in Midland cricket competitions joining Leinster Cup and League in 1987 and over the following years winning leagues and cups at various levels which included reaching four Senior 2 cup finals, winning two, as well as reaching the final of The National cup. Currently the club fields two league sides and a social side. Our youths section has restarted and hopefully down the road we will have a Ladies team.
New members are very welcome to the Abbey where we have installed new grass pitches to compliment our artificial along with two practice nets , with all necessary facilities relevant to the practice and playing of cricket. For families there is a play area in the “Orchard “which is part of the grounds. As the grounds are located in the center of the village backing on to Napper Tandy’s tavern all the amenities of the village are in close proximity, two coffee shops, a Saturday Country Market, children’s play ground, walking areas plus numerous family facilities.
The Club continues to support both Midland and Leinster competitions, welcome touring and social teams , run regular BBQ after games as well as enjoying the hospitality of the village.
Leinster Division 4 Winners 2012
Wallace Cup Winners 2012
Dick O'Neill Cup Winners 2012
Address: Laois Cricket Club, The Abbey, Stradbally, Co. Laois.
Phone: 086 190 8073
Primary Contact: Adrian Tudor (Teams Manager / Fixture Secretary) - email@example.com | 086 190 8073
Adrian Tudor Teams Manager
Paul Croke Fixtures Secretary
Phone: 087 919 1204