Upcoming Fixtures

07 Aug 2021 13:00

Greystones 1 v Dublin University 2

14 Aug 2021 13:00

Castleknock 1 v Dublin University 2

21 Aug 2021 12:30

Dublin University 2 v Clontarf 4

28 Aug 2021 12:30

Dublin University 2 v Carlow 1

Latest Results

02 Aug 2021

Dublin University 2 v Leinster 3

24 Jul 2021

Dublin University 2 v Swords 1

10 Jul 2021

North County 1 v Dublin University 1

03 Jul 2021

Phoenix 1 v Dublin University 1

New Member Information

Our season is short - April to June, so keep your eye out on Facebook and Twitter for news of practices and action in College Park. 

How To Find Us

College Park is located in Trinity College, Dublin city center. It is easily accessible by bus or DART (Pearse Station). Unfortunately the College do not allow visiting teams to park on campus. There are many car parks in the city centre, the closest being Fleet Street and Setanta. Parking is also available on Merrion Square.

You can find our Google Maps listing by clicking here.

Connect With Us


Team League Fixtures Results
Dublin University 1 open View View
Dublin University 2 open View View
Dublin University W1 women View View

Player Starrings

About Dublin University

Dublin University Cricket Club is one of Ireland's oldest and most historic cricket clubs. Playing at the luxurious environs of College Park at one of the country's finest cricket grounds, in the heart of the city at Trinity College Dublin. The club is currently the only Irish University to field teams in league cricket. 

The club fields two open teams, one women's XI and a "Ramblers" XI which plays Friday night games under taverners rules.

The club plays in the top league in Leinster and has always been an attractive option for top-class players such as Ed Joyce, George Dockrell and Lorcan Tucker amongst many others.

Club History

Cricket has been played in College Park for 200 years, and the club is the oldest in Ireland still playing on its original ground. In the 19th Century it was a powerhouse of the game, taking on and beating counties - we bowled Warwickshire out for 15 in 1893! - and playing touring teams such as Australia, South Africa and the West Indies. 197 of our players have played for Ireland, while three have played test cricket, for Ireland, England and South Africa. 

Long Read

The Dublin University Cricket Club has been at the forefront of Irish cricket for almost two centuries. Cricket has been played in Trinity since the 1820s, when there was a poem written about a team from Ballinasloe playing 'the Collegians', but references to a constituted cricket club have not been found before 1835. The club produced a magnificent hardback history in 1980 (written by Michael Milne, Nick Perry and Michael Halliday) and this work is commended to anyone interested in finding out more about the long and illustrious history of the club. In this short summary I can just highlight some of the great players that turned out for the club and some of the achievements of DUCC. 

The great jewel of our club, of course, and of Irish cricket in general, is the College Park. We are privileged to play here and in doing so walk in the footsteps of some of the all time legends of cricket. No less than 300 test cricketers have played on our ground, including WG Grace (seven times!), Richie Benaud, Gary Sobers, Len Hutton, Colin Cowdrey, Wally Hammond, Victor Trumper and Bill O'Reilly. Many of them played for touring sides and counties against Ireland, who used College Park as the main Dublin venue for many decades, but the Trinity club was also able to invite over and compete with English counties and universities for more than 40 years before the Great War. 

It may surprise many who look at DUCC as a small club, struggling to make itself heard in a huge university and a professional-swamped Leinster league, but the club was on the official tour programme for the Australians (twice), South Africans (three times) and, as late as 1923, the West Indies. The university was the centre of Dublin cricket for most of this time, but the coming of an independent Ireland in 1922 was to change the game forever in this country. Trinity kept its pre-eminence into the 1930s, but its influence and power waned and has never been recaptured. The coming of competitive cricket in 1919 was to prove successful for a while, and Trinity won the Leinster Senior League in 1927, 1947, 1948, 1966 and 1970. The Leinster Senior Cup was instituted in the late 1930s and Trinity brought it back to College Park in 1942, 1952, 1961, 1962 and 1963. 

The trophy cabinet, bar ten intervarsities wins and a couple of 2nd XI leagues and cups, has been bare for more than three decades. Elsewhere you can trace the records of the great names and their incredible feats. Almost 200 DUCC men have played international or first-class cricket, and three of them - Clem Johnson (South Africa), Leland Hone (England) and most recently, Ed Joyce (Ireland) have played Test Matches.

Club Information

Address: College Park, Dublin 2
Website: https://www.trinitycricket.com
Email: crickettrinity@gmail.com
Primary Contact: Sanil Gupta (Captain) - guptas1@tcd.ie |

Club Contacts