« Back to Club Listings

Dublin University

Dublin University Cricket Club

About Dublin University

Dublin University Cricket Club is one of Ireland's oldest and most historic cricket clubs. Playing at the luxurious environs of College Park, in the heart of Trinity College Dublin the club is currently the only Irish University to field teams in league cricket. The club fields 3 male teams and ladies team in the regular season and has produced numerous first class and international cricketers.

Contact Information

Last edited on 19/12/2016

Address: College Park, Dublin 2 Map this location on Google Maps
Main Contact:
Danny Paul

Club Sponsors

The Dublin University Cricket Club has been at the forefront of Irish cricket for almost two centuries. Cricket has been played in Trinity since the 1820s, when there was a poem written about a team from Ballinasloe playing ‘the Collegians’, but references to a constituted cricket club have not been found before 1835. The club produced a magnificent hardback history in 1980 (written by Michael Milne, Nick Perry and Michael Halliday) and this work is commended to anyone interested in finding out more about the long and illustrious history of the club. In this short summary I can just highlight some of the great players that turned out for the club and some of the achievements of DUCC.

The great jewel of our club, of course, and of Irish cricket in general, is the College Park. We are privileged to play here and in doing so walk in the footsteps of some of the all time legends of cricket. No less than 300 test cricketers have played on our ground, including WG Grace (seven times!), Richie Benaud, Gary Sobers, Len Hutton, Colin Cowdrey, Wally Hammond, Victor Trumper and Bill O’Reilly. Many of them played for touring sides and counties against Ireland, who used College Park as the main Dublin venue for many decades, but the Trinity club was also able to invite over and compete with English counties and universities for more than 40 years before the Great War. It may surprise many who look at DUCC as a small club, struggling to make itself heard in a huge university and a professional-swamped Leinster league, but the club was on the official tour programme for the Australians (twice), South Africans (three times) and, as late as 1923, the West Indies. The university was the centre of Dublin cricket for most of this time, but the coming of an independent Ireland in 1922 was to change the game forever in this country. Trinity kept its pre-eminence into the 1930s, but its influence and power waned and has never been recaptured.

The coming of competitive cricket in 1919 was to prove successful for a while, and Trinity won the Leinster Senior League in 1927, 1947, 1948, 1966 and 1970. The Leinster Senior Cup was instituted in the late 1930s and Trinity brought it back to College Park in 1942, 1952, 1961, 1962 and 1963. The trophy cabinet, bar ten intervarsities wins and a couple of 2nd XI leagues and cups, has been bare for more than three decades.

Elsewhere you can trace the records of the great names and their incredible feats. Almost 200 DUCC men have played international or first-class cricket, and two of them - Clem Johnson (South Africa) and Leland Hone (England) have played test matches. We have had several men who went on to play county or state cricket in England, Australia, South Africa and India, from the 1850s up to Ed Joyce, the 2001 graduate currently contracted to Middlesex. It is a long, often glorious history, and while the current club may seem a pale shadow of those that, for example, bowled Warwickshire out for 15 (in 1894), the game is played as hard and with as much passion for club and team-mates as it ever was.

We welcome players of all abilities. Anyone interested in joining please contact Cub Secretary Paddy Orr ()

College Park is located in Trinity College, Dublin city center.
It is easily accessible by bus or DART (Pearse Station).
Unfortunately the College do not allow visiting teams to park on campus. There are many car parks in the city centre, the closest being Fleet Street and Setanta. Parking is also available on Merrion Square.

Latest Results

There are no latest results for this club yet!

Upcoming Fixtures

There are no upcoming fixtures for this club yet!

Club Contacts

  • Name Title Email Phone
  • Danny Paul Fixture Secretary dapaul@tcd.ie
  • Simranjeet Singh Hon. Secretary singhs4@tcd.ie
  • Rowan Walsh Hon. Treasurer walshyrowan@gmail.com
  • Will Von Behr Club/1st XI Captain vonbehrw@tcd.ie
  • Matthew Cockerill 2nd XI Captain mrjcockerill@gmail.com
© Copyright Cricket Leinster. All Rights Reserved. Web Design Dublin.

Subscribe to the Cricket Leinster Newsletter

Please complete the form below to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with all the latest news, events, results and offers from Cricket Leinster.