Between 1966 and 2004 the Irish Cricket Union [as it was then called] ran a Senior Interprovincial Series between three teams in the North [North West, Ulster Town and Ulster County] and three in the Republic [South Leinster, North Leinster and Munster]. For a while there was also a North v South fixture. The series was discontinued in 2004 and despite efforts to revive it there have only been occasional matches between the provincial teams since.

During this period South and North Leinster both won the competitin once and shared it once. The South, North and a special Development XI won the series once each as well

Despite have limited success as teams, there were a number of notable Leinster individual performances with Alf Masood [Phoenix] leading the all time batting averages, Brendan O'Brien [Railway U] scoring the most runs and Ian Lewis making the most scores over 50. The highest individual score in a match was also held by Alf Masood [196* against South Leinster at Rathmines in 1983]. Career Records for Interprovincial Series.

© Copyright Cricket Leinster. All Rights Reserved. Web Design Dublin.

Subscribe to the Cricket Leinster Newsletter

Please complete the form below to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with all the latest news, events, results and offers from Cricket Leinster.