The quarter finals draw for the Leinster Senior Cup & Senior 2 Cup was made this morning in Malahide before the start of the Ireland's Intercontinental Cup match against the UAE.

In the same vain as our statistical review of Division 2 last week, we look at Division 1 with the hard nosed view of a mathematician.

Clontarf's mid-winter decision to decline the chance of promotion has left something of an odd feeling to this year's Division 3. The champions from last year stay still, but with little to prove, whilst with only one team coming down from Division 2, there isn't the normal intrigue as to what may happen.

Division 5 is only a week away, but for the teams involved, the warm April afternoons must be massively frustrating. All cricketers are aching to get going when the skies are blue, and the ground dry. Railway Union 3 and Malahide 3 meet on April 26th, but the rest of the division must wait even longer - most clubs play over the May Bank Holiday weekend - apart from Mullngar 1 who wait until May 17. Another month!

The plan has been to get this preview distributed to the cricketing public before the first Division 7 match of the season took place on Sunday 12th April. We just about failed, but with the match between Clontarf 4 and Laois 2 being abandoned after only three balls, not too much has been lost by being a little late.

© Copyright Cricket Leinster. All Rights Reserved. Web Design Company.

Subscribe to the Cricket Leinster Newsletter

Please complete the form below to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with all the latest news, events, results and offers from Cricket Leinster.