There are a massive 24 league places between the 2014 league finishing positions of the highest and lowest ranked teams in this year's Middle Cup draw, and it is difficult to ignore those league positions - however romantic the dreams of a giant slaying cup run may be.

Club cricket can be a difficult beast to predict. There are hundreds of factors that go into how well any given side will perform come the summer - and most important of all is probably, will the side actually play well!?

The Minor Cup is the seventh tier cup competition, with the 2015 edition of this venerable trophy having its final in Laois Cricket Club on August 22nd. The competition is one of the older on the provincial circuit, with the first edition of the Minor Cup being won by YMCA 4 in 1926. A new competition, aimed at a lower level of cricket was instigated in 1986, and fittingly that was won by another YMCA side, YMCA 5.

Division 6 ended up in one of the most exciting league finishes of the season, and as such it is a little difficult summarising the season, knowing that the denouement was probably all that mattered

Division 8 was split into three distinct parts. There were three clubs who were battling to escape the drop (see below), there was Leinster 4, and there were five teams chasing Leinster 4

© Copyright Cricket Leinster. All Rights Reserved. Web Design Company.

Subscribe to the Cricket Leinster Newsletter

Please complete the form below to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with all the latest news, events, results and offers from Cricket Leinster.