AARON HAMILTON has been appointed by Cricket Ireland as their full-time women’s head coach and performance pathway manager.

When listing the achievements of clubs, it is all too easy to blithely assume that most clubs regularly pick up one trophy or another. In reality, it is the lucky few who experience success on those sultry summer afternoons, and for many players cup glory remains just a dream.

The Intermediate Cup is the venerable old man of Leinster cricket, with the trophy first presented in 1895. There was one familiar name in those early years, as Clontarf 1sts won three of the first twelve cups. The unfamiliar names are also worth reading - Athy won in 1895 and 1896, Land Commission won three titles at the very end of the 19th century, Beaumont completed a three in a row from 1902-1904 and Richmond Asylum put their name on the trophy in 1901.

The Minor Cup is the seventh tier cup competition, with the 2015 edition of this venerable trophy having its final in Laois Cricket Club on August 22nd. The competition is one of the older on the provincial circuit, with the first edition of the Minor Cup being won by YMCA 4 in 1926. A new competition, aimed at a lower level of cricket was instigated in 1986, and fittingly that was won by another YMCA side, YMCA 5.

Today sees the start of our reviews of the 2015 Open Competitions. Between now and the start of the new season in mid April, we will have an in depth look at all the 29 Open Comps - those competitions that are open to all - young and old, male and female. For 2015 there will be a record breaking 16 divisions of league cricket, but we start by looking at the various cup competitions, starting with the Minor 2 Cup - the full length (40 overs) cup competition for teams playing in league Divisions 15, 16 and also including three non-league teams.

© Copyright Cricket Leinster. All Rights Reserved. Web Design Company.

Subscribe to the Cricket Leinster Newsletter

Please complete the form below to join our newsletter and be kept up to date with all the latest news, events, results and offers from Cricket Leinster.